The Gazpacho Kick Keeps Going

8 Aug

We had friends over for dinner last night and I wanted to keep going with my gazpacho kick of late. It’s such a great way to pack in a ton of veggies and a great solution to hot summer nights. I decided to go to Whole Foods and see what looked good. They had a sale on seedless watermelons. I was inspired.

Again, it couldn’t have been easier. I pureed two small seedless watermelons (NOTE- do the food processing in batches unless you have a big processor. I made the mistake of putting too much in at once and it leaked everywhere). Once the pureeing was done, I put in a bunch of cilantro, mint. Then I added onion and some salt and pepper. I mixed that into the watermelon puree. I then put in a cucumber, half of a red and orange pepper, three sticks of celery. A little more salt and pepper, a tablespoon of olive oil and a splash of red wine vinegar.

If you want a more precise recipe- this one on Epicurious is almost exactly like mine (total coinsidence!) and you can follow it more to a T.

I served the soup in little mugs with a dollop of Greek yogurt, a slice of avocado and a little chopped cilantro. It was delicious and so easy.

What are your favorite gazpacho ingredients?

Watermelon Gazpacho

One Response to “The Gazpacho Kick Keeps Going”

  1. Hana August 19, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    I think you should post a loose recipe for the gazpacho served last night. The cabbage, consistency, depth, flavor, aroma and lightness were absolutely perfect. I can’t wait to have leftovers for dinner tonight.

Leave a comment