Tiny Lounge…Big Drinks

18 Jul

Last night my husband and I decided to go out. Just because we have a four month old and sleep is hard to come by these days, doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy a night out on the town. Or an afternoon… It was 5:30 p.m. and we were going to have some drinks, damn it.

We put the baby in the stroller, braved the 90+ temperatures and headed down Lincoln to Tiny Lounge.

I had been to Tiny Lounge a few times with girlfriends, but this was the first time my husband I went together. Our goal was simple: Have a few cocktails, enjoy a few bites and then get home in time to put the baby down by 8-ish. Well, we certainly accomplished said goal and I don’t think that my husband or I thought we’d enjoy it as much as we did.

First, let me start with the cocktails. As a self-declared wino, I’m not a huge fan of mixed drinks. I tend to find them too sweet so I usually veer away from them. But my “Lakshi” cocktail last night (a marriage of small batch gin, St. Germain’s, pear liquor and Cava) was outstanding. Seriously. It was on par with some of the cocktails that I’ve had at the Clover Club in Brooklyn (best cocktails in the world, by the way). It was refreshing without being too sweet and the blend of the flavors was dead on. My husband had the Wyatt Earp (their only brown-liquor option) and he was thrilled as well. After a cocktail, I moved on to a glass of Cava which was very refreshing and my husband dove into their extensive beer list. He had a Tusker (beer from Kenya) and a Magners on ice.

Let me now talk about the food. They don’t have a huge menu and most of it is smaller portions, but that was exactly what we were in the mood for. We ordered the Minced Lamb Pizzetta (tomato sauce, herbed goat cheese, organic yogurt, fresh mint leaves), the Ahi Tuna Tacos (grilled ahi tuna, cucumber, red pepper, green onion, wasabi), and the Grilled Jerk Shrimp Kabobs (shrimp, cucumber, cilantro, mango and passion fruit). Not a bad bite in the bunch. I could have eaten the lamb pizzetta all day and the tuna tacos were light and a perfect blend of flavors.

There’s an outdoor patio that wasn’t too crowded and offered the a great spot to sit, chat and watch people in Lincoln Square.

While we were there I realized this is the perfect spot for my big milestone birthday in October.  I’m talking to the restaurant now to square the details, but it’s a great location and exactly the kind of ambiance I’ve been looking for.

We decided this is definitely our go-to spot for a drink after work, or when we’re looking to go “out” on a Saturday night at 5:30 p.m.!

Leave a Reply

